GAUFF Stiftung

Erlangens Life Bank helps Leukemia patients

There is hardly a disease as unpredictable as leukemia. It can happen to anyone of us without a warning. For affected people there is often just one promising treatment method: the stem cell transplant.

Although about 20 million stem cell donors are registered worldwide, there is no suitable donor to be found for a quarter of all affected people. But even for those patients there has been hope for several years: the transplantation of umbilical cord blood.

Already in the late 90s, the University Hospital of Erlangen has started to build up a cord blood bank and in 2004 it was one of three institutions throughout Germany, which had therefore a statutory approval for pharmaceutical products from the Paul-Ehrlich-Institute. The primary objective was and still is to collect as much cord blood as possible from volunteer donors for patients suffering from leukemia. And the processing and storage of cord blood from all over Germany occurs in the premises of the stern cell bank of Erlangen, according to the most scientific standards.

The GAUFF Foundation supports the life bank initiative since 2013 with an annual donation of € 15.000, - to help seriously ill people and to give them the chance to live on. Given that public and self-generated funds are not available in sufficient amounts, the owners of the stem cell bank are dependent on donations in order be able to provide the appropriate concentrates to a maximum number of patients.

For more information see: www.100xleben.de

GAUFF Stiftung

Erlanger Lebensbank hilft Leukämie-Patienten

Kaum eine Krankheit ist so unberechenbar wie Leukämie. Sie kann jeden von uns ohne Vorwarnung treffen. Für erkrankte Menschen gibt es oft nur eine erfolgsversprechende Behandlungsmethode: Die Stammzellentransplantation.

 Obwohl weltweit mittlerweile rund 20 Millionen Stammzellenspender registriert sind, findet sich für ein Viertel aller Erkrankten kein geeigneter Spender. Doch auch für diese Patienten besteht seit einigen Jahren Hoffnung: Die Transplantation von Nabelschnurblut.

Das Universitätsklinikum Erlangen hat zu diesem Zweck bereits Ende der 90er Jahre begonnen, eine Nabelschnurblutbank aufzubauen und war 2004 eines von drei Instituten Deutschlandweit, das dafür über die arzneimittelrechtliche Zulassung des Paul-Ehrlich-Instituts verfügte. Primäres Ziel war und ist es, von freiwilligen Spendern so viel Nabelschnurblut als irgend möglich für leukämiekranke Patienten zu sammeln. In den Räumen der Erlanger Stammzellbank findet dabei nach modernsten wissenschaftlichen Standards die Aufbereitung und Lagerung von Nabelschnurblut aus ganz Deutschland statt.

Die GAUFF Stiftung unterstützt die Initiative Lebensbank seit 2013 mit einer jährlichen Spende in Höhe von € 15.000,-- um schwerkranken Menschen helfen und Ihnen die Chance zum Weiterleben geben zu können. Da öffentliche und eigenerwirtschaftete Mittel nicht in ausreichender Höhe zur Verfügung stehen, sind die Träger der Stammzellenbank auf Spenden angewiesen, um möglichst vielen Patienten entsprechende Konzentrate zur Verfügung stellen zu können.

Mehr Informationen unter: www.100xleben.de