GAUFF Stiftung

Expansion of the "Holy Dove" farming school in Uganda

In cooperation with Rwenzori e.V., which has been carrying out sustainable rural development projects in the Rwenzori mountains in Uganda since 2009, the GAUFF foundation is expanding the "Holy Dove" farming school and its educational programme. The school was only inaugurated in 2016 and already gives access to training and education to about 300 young adults.

About 80% of Ugandans work in agriculture, but resort to very traditional methods. Most of them are subsistence farmers. The students of the farming school learn all about modern agricultural methods both in theory and in practice on a parcel of about four hectares. The school focuses on improving cultivation methods, animal husbandry and efficient farmland irrigation. The foodstuff produced is used to supply the school and the Holy Dove high school, which was also founded by Rwenzori e.V. Two thirds of their own needs are covered by the food grown by the farming school. Part of the harvest is sold on local markets or to nearby hotels.

The GAUFF foundation is happy to support this exemplary and sustainable project with a donation of € 30,000 for the expansion of the school. With this donation, the school can purchase additional land for a small fish farm. This amplifies the field of competence of the school and the training and education options offered to the students. In the long term, this will not only increase food security, but also the overall economy of Uganda.

GAUFF Stiftung

Ausbau der Landwirtschaftsschule „Holy Dove“ in Uganda

In Kooperation mit dem Rwenzori e.V., der schon seit 2009 nachhaltige Projekte zur ländlichen Entwicklung in der Region des Rwenzori Gebirges in Uganda umsetzt, baut die GAUFF Stiftung  die Landwirtschaftsschule „Holy Dove“ aus und erweitert damit deren Ausbildungsangebot. Die Schule feierte 2016 ihre Eröffnung und ermöglicht heute bereits rund 300 jungen Menschen eine Ausbildung.

Rund 80% der Ugander sind in der Landwirtschaft beschäftigt, betreiben diese aber noch sehr traditionell und vor allem um den täglichen Eigenbedarf zu decken. In der Landwirtschaftsschule bekommen die Schüler auf einer rund vier Hektar großen Fläche Theorie und Praxis einer moderneren Landwirtschaft vermittelt. Schwerpunkte sind dabei die Verbesserung von Anbaumethoden, Viehhaltung und effiziente Bewässerungsmethoden für landwirtschaftliche Flächen. Die erzeugten Lebensmittel werden für die Versorgung der Schule selbst und der ebenfalls vom Rwenzori e.V. gegründeten Holy-Dove-Sekundarschule verwendet. Damit können rund zwei Drittel des Eigenbedarfs gedeckt werden. Ein Teil der Ernte wird auch auf lokalen Märkten und an nahegelegene Hotels verkauft.

Die GAUFF Stiftung engagiert sich gerne in diesem vorbildlichen und nachhaltigen Projekt und spendet € 30.000,-- für den Ausbau der Schule. Mit der Spende können zusätzliche landwirtschaftliche Nutzflächen gekauft und darauf eine kleine Fischzucht aufgebaut werden. Damit bekommt die Schule ein weiteres Kompetenzfeld hinzu und die Schüler eine noch breiter angelegte Ausbildung. Dies wird langfristig nicht nur die Nahrungsmittelversorgung sichern, sondern auch die Volkswirtschaft in Uganda verstärken.